Charged with Drunk Driving?
If you get arrested for driving under the influence, then you need a to call a Tampa DUI Defense Attorney immediately.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is one of the most reckless and dangerous acts that a person can commit on the roadways, and in Florida, such crimes are prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. In 2010, 2,262 fatal crashes occurred in Florida that involved at least one driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher.
Law enforcement agencies throughout Florida are constantly seeking to bring DUI fatality rates down by pulling over suspected drunk drivers and arresting alleged DUI offenders. If you may have been arrested for DUI you are facing severe penalties and you should hire an experienced DUI defense lawyer immediately.
Florida DUI Penalties
In Florida, you are consider impaired if your BAC is .08% or higher. If you are convicted of a DUI, you face license suspension, heavy fines and time in jail. License suspension means having your drivers’ license revoked for a period of time in addition to fines and possible jail time. The term of license revocation, jail time, and fines are dependent upon a person’s guilt of a first offense or multiple offenses:
- First offense – 180 days to one-year suspension, up to six months in jail, and a fine of $500-$1,000
- Second offense (within five years) – At least five years suspension, a jail sentence of up to nine months and a fine of $1,000-$2,000
- Third offense (within ten years of a second one) – At least ten years suspension, is a third degree felony resulting in a prison sentence of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000
Fourth and subsequent convictions are also third-degree felonies, regardless of the length of time since the prior conviction. Felonies of any kind can also result in extended prison terms for “habitual offenses.” An even more devastating aggravated DUI situation consists of being charged with DUI with injury or DUI manslaughter.