Tampa Assault & Battery Attorneys
The law firm of de la Grana | Boardman are experienced Tampa Assault & Battery Attorneys. Combined they have over 55 years of criminal defense experience. Anyone facing assault and/or battery charges can benefit from the legal services offered by our experienced defense attorneys.
In the State of Florida Assault is defined as the “Intentional, unlawful threat by word or act to do violence to the person of another; coupled with an apparent ability to do so, and doing some act which creates a well-founded fear in such other person that such violence is imminent.”
You may be arrested charged with criminal assault, if you have threatened someone and/or made that person fear for their safety. A guilty verdict for assault allegations are a 3nd-degree felony and can be punishable by up to 60 days in prison, and up to $500 penalty. Aggravated Assault is the act of assault (as defined above) with a deadly weapon with the intent to commit a felony but without the intent to kill.
Using a weapon in a threatening manner against another or using it in order to commit a felony can have you arrested for aggravated assault. A guilty verdict for aggravated assault faces a 2rd-degree felony, with penalties not to exceed 5 years imprisonment, and can pay up to $5,000 in fines.
Battery, Felony Battery, Aggravated Battery
In Florida, Battery is defined as touching or striking another person in a way that is against the will of said person. Felony Battery occurs when you touch or strike another person against their will and cause, “great bodily harm, permanent disability or permanent disfigurement.”
In Aggravated Battery cases, the battery took place; the victim was harmed physically, and a deadly weapon was used during the commission of the crime. Further, if the victim of battery was pregnant and the offender was aware of the pregnancy, the crime becomes an automatic aggravated battery felony crime.
Battery is a 1st-degree misdemeanor, with punishment not to exceed 1-year imprisonment and $1,000 in fines. Felony Battery is a 3rd-degree felony, punishable by imprisonment up to 5 years and payment of up to $5,000 in fines. Aggravated Battery is a 2nd-degree felony, with a maximum prison sentence of up to 15 years and payment of up to $10,000 in fines.
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION
Fill out the form below to receive a free and confidential initial consultation.